# Kahunas Alternatives (2026): 6 Coaching Apps Compared

Trainaq is the best-value Kahunas alternative: $39/month vs $69 for 50 clients, with AI food photo logging and a weekly AI client digest on every plan.

_By Team Trainaq (The team that builds Trainaq, the coaching platform for personal trainers, online coaches and fitness, yoga and Pilates studios). Published 2026-10-28, updated 2026-11-01. Category: Tools and apps. We make Trainaq, one of the apps covered here, so weigh our picks with that in mind._

Of the Kahunas alternatives we compared, Trainaq is the best value for coaches with up to 200 clients. On monthly billing, Trainaq costs $19 vs $35 on Kahunas at 10 clients, $39 vs $69 at 50 clients and $79 vs $99 at 200 clients. AI food photo logging and a weekly AI client digest are included on every Trainaq plan; we did not find either on Kahunas's pages. Trainaq's library has 1,600+ HD exercise videos in male and female versions, against 1,000+ exercise videos on Kahunas.

Kahunas has real strengths: its Ultimate plan ($99/month) includes your own branded iOS and Android apps, and it takes no commission on sales through Stripe and PayPal. Trainaq has no branded app; it also takes no fee on Stripe and PayPal payments, which are on its Pro and Studio plans. All prices were checked in October 2026. You can [start a 7-day Trainaq trial](https://app.trainaq.com/sign-up) with no card, or read on.

## Kahunas pricing vs Trainaq at 10, 50 and 200 clients

| Clients | Trainaq plan (monthly / yearly) | Kahunas plan (monthly / yearly) |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 10 | **Starter: $19 / $205** | Essentials: $35 / $315 |
| Up to 50 | **Pro: $39 / $420** | Growth: $69 / $621 |
| Up to 200 | **Studio: $79 / $850** | Ultimate: $99 / $900 |

Three things the table doesn't show:

- **Between 11 and 25 clients, Kahunas is cheaper.** Essentials covers up to 25 clients for $35/month ($315/year). Trainaq Starter stops at 10, so you need Pro at $39/month ($420/year), which adds 5 coach accounts, the AI diet and workout builder and group classes.
- **Above 200 clients, Kahunas Ultimate is the option.** It has no client cap; Trainaq Studio stops at 200.
- **Yearly billing narrows the gap.** Kahunas yearly saves 25%; Trainaq yearly is about 10% off ($17, $35 and $71 a month). At 200 clients that is $850 vs $900 a year. Trainaq's founder offer gives 14 months for the price of 12 on yearly plans, for the first 100 coaches or until 31 Dec 2026.

Kahunas shows its prices with a "$" sign and no currency code. Full Trainaq plan details are on the [pricing page](https://trainaq.com/pricing), and our [Trainaq vs Kahunas page](https://trainaq.com/compare/kahunas) puts the two side by side.

## What the Kahunas app does well

Kahunas's pages list a solid core: Stripe and PayPal payments with "no commission on your sales", unlimited nutrition plans from Essentials up, 1,000+ exercise videos, Health Score A.I on Growth and Ultimate, and your own branded iOS and Android apps on Ultimate. Its help centre says the client website is free for clients.

The trade-offs: branded apps are on the top plan only, plus an Apple developer account that Kahunas puts at $99 USD per year. Beyond Health Score A.I, we found no AI food photo logging or AI client summaries on its pages.

## What 50 clients costs on apps like Kahunas

We priced every app at 50 active clients, Trainaq Pro's limit, on monthly billing as of October 2026. The other six apps charge $59 to $136.99 a month for 50 clients. Trainaq Pro is $39.

| App | Plan for 50 clients | Monthly price | Yearly option |
|---|---|---|---|
| **Trainaq** | **Pro** | **$39** | **$420/year (about $35/month). Founder offer: 14 months for the price of 12, first 100 coaches or until 31 Dec 2026** |
| Kahunas | Growth | $69 | $621/year (about $51.75/month) |
| TrueCoach | Pro | $136.99 | "2 months free" on annual; no dollar figure shown |
| Trainerize | Pro (50 clients) | About $135 | Annual billing saves 10% (about $122/month, per Trainerize's blog) |
| Everfit | Pro (50 clients) | $95 | $79/month |
| PT Distinction | Master | $89.90 | No annual option |
| My PT Hub | Premium (unlimited clients) | $59 | $52/month on annual paid monthly |

My PT Hub and Kahunas are closest to Trainaq on price, so what each plan includes matters more.

## What's included vs extra

"Not mentioned" means we did not find it on the vendor's pricing or feature pages in October 2026.

| App | Free client app | Branded app | AI food photo logging | AI summaries / builder | Nutrition | Payments |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| **Trainaq** | **Yes, all plans** | **Not offered** | **Included, all plans** | **Weekly AI client digest on all plans; AI diet and workout builder on Pro and Studio** | **Diet plans on all plans** | **India: UPI/card via Razorpay Route (3.5% + GST). Elsewhere: your own Stripe/PayPal on Pro and Studio, no Trainaq fee. Cash and part payments tracked on all plans** |
| Kahunas | Website free for clients (app not stated) | Ultimate only ($99/month), plus Apple's $99/year | Not mentioned | Health Score A.I on Growth and up | Unlimited nutrition plans | Stripe and PayPal, no commission |
| Everfit | Yes | Logo and colours on Pro and Studio; own white-label app on Enterprise only | MacroSnap included on paid plans; client licences bought separately | AI Smart Response on Pro and Studio | Meal Plans & Recipe Books add-on from $39/month | Payments & Packages add-on from $9/month |
| Trainerize | Yes | $169 one-time setup on Pro; included with Studio | Paid add-on (FitMetrics, from $6/client) | AI Workout Builder included; FitMetrics (paid) drafts check-in replies | Advanced Nutrition: $45/month on Pro 30 to Pro 200 | Stripe: $10/month add-on on Grow and Pro |
| My PT Hub | Yes | $95 one-time; white label $145/month | Not mentioned | Check-Ins AI summaries: $12/month on Premium | Included | Stripe; no platform fee stated |
| PT Distinction | Not stated | Included on Pro and Master | Not mentioned | AI Program Builder and AI Assistant on all plans | AI (Smart) Meal Planner on all plans | PayPal or any merchant |
| TrueCoach | Yes | Custom-branded app listed on Standard and Pro | Not on the pricing page | None listed | Through MyFitnessPal | Included; flat 5% fee per transaction |

Only Trainaq and Everfit list AI food photo logging without a feature fee, and Everfit sells client licences separately. In fairness, Kahunas, PT Distinction and TrueCoach include a branded app on at least one plan; Trainaq does not offer one.

## The 6 best Kahunas alternatives in 2026

### 1. Trainaq

**Best for:** personal trainers, [online coaches](https://trainaq.com/for/online-coaches), nutritionists and small studios with up to 200 clients who want AI and nutrition included at a lower price.

**Price:** Starter is $19/month ($205/year) for up to 10 active clients, with 1 coach and 1 assistant. Pro is $39/month ($420/year) for up to 50 active clients and 5 coach accounts. Studio is $79/month ($850/year) for up to 200 active clients and 25 coach accounts. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial, no card needed.

**On every plan:**
- A coach app (iOS and Android), a free client app (iOS and Android) and a coach web dashboard.
- [AI food photo logging](https://trainaq.com/features/ai-food-photo), with no add-on fee.
- A weekly AI client digest.
- [Weekly check-ins](https://trainaq.com/features/check-ins), intake forms and chat.
- Workout and diet plan builders, memberships, reminders and PT session booking.
- 600+ exercises with 1,600+ HD videos, in male and female versions.
- Cash and part payments with dues tracking.

**Pro adds:** an AI diet and workout builder (50 generations a month), group classes, Apple Health and Health Connect sync, leads and follow-ups, Google Meet and Calendar, and automated WhatsApp notifications. **Studio adds** 200 AI generations a month, multiple branches, custom roles, advanced analytics and the AI Website Builder.

**Limits:** We make Trainaq, and it is newer than the other apps here. Zoom is coming soon, not live, and outside India in-app card payments (your own Stripe or PayPal) need Pro or Studio. There is no branded app, and plans stop at 200 active clients.

### 2. Everfit

**Best for:** coaches who want a structured app with photo-based macro tracking.

**Price:** Pro is $95/month for 50 clients, or $79/month billed annually.

**Strengths:** Everfit is free for your clients, and Pro and Studio let you add your logo. MacroSnap turns a meal photo into macros on any paid plan, and AI Smart Response drafts client replies on Pro and Studio.

**Limits:** MacroSnap client licences are bought separately. Payments & Packages (from $9/month) and Meal Plans & Recipe Books (from $39/month) are add-ons. A white-label app is Enterprise only, price on request.

### 3. Trainerize

**Best for:** coaches who want an included AI Workout Builder and don't mind paying for add-ons.

**Price:** Trainerize's FAQ and blog put 50 clients at about $135/month, though a table on the same pricing page shows $79. Annual billing saves 10%.

**Strengths:** The client app is free for clients, and an AI Workout Builder is included. A custom branded app is a one-time $169 setup on Pro and included with Studio.

**Limits:** AI meal analysis sits in FitMetrics, a paid add-on from $6 per client. Advanced Nutrition Coaching is $45/month from Pro 30 to Pro 200, and Stripe payments are a $10/month add-on on Grow and Pro. Our [Trainerize alternatives guide](https://trainaq.com/blog/trainerize-alternatives) covers it in more depth.

### 4. My PT Hub

**Best for:** coaches who want unlimited clients on one mid-tier plan.

**Price:** Starter is $25/month for 3 clients, so most coaches need Premium at $59/month for unlimited clients ($52/month on annual paid monthly). New accounts get 50% off the first two months on flexible billing.

**Strengths:** Over 8,000 HD exercise videos, the largest stated count here. An AI workout builder turns text or image prompts into workouts, and nutrition plans and Stripe payments are included.

**Limits:** AI progress summaries (Check-Ins AI) cost $12/month extra. A custom branded app is a $95 one-time fee, and a white-label app store listing is $145/month. AI food photo logging is not mentioned.

### 5. PT Distinction

**Best for:** coaches who want a branded app below the top tier.

**Price:** Basic is $19.90/month for 3 clients, Pro $59.90 for 25 and Master $89.90 with 50 clients included. Each client over 50 adds $1.60/month. There is no annual plan.

**Strengths:** PT Distinction says every feature is in every plan, including an AI Program Builder, AI Assistant and AI meal planner. Pro and Master include your own branded iOS and Android apps. Payments run through PayPal or any merchant.

**Limits:** Its photo food diary is not described as AI. Basic has no custom branding, and extra Basic clients cost $6/month after the first month.

### 6. TrueCoach

**Best for:** strength and program-focused coaches.

**Price:** Starter is $26.34/month for 5 active clients, Standard $57.99/month for 20 and Pro $136.99/month for 50. Annual billing gives the equivalent of 2 months free.

**Strengths:** Free for clients, 3,500+ recorded exercise demonstrations and a custom-branded app on Standard and Pro.

**Limits:** Nutrition runs through MyFitnessPal, and no AI features are listed. Payments carry a flat 5% fee per transaction, per its help centre.

## How to choose a Kahunas alternative

| Question | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| How many active clients will you have in 12 months? | Most of these apps price by client tier. Price next year's plan. |
| Do you need your own branded app? | Compare Kahunas Ultimate, PT Distinction Pro and Master, and TrueCoach Standard and Pro. |
| How do your clients pay you? | Kahunas takes no commission on Stripe and PayPal. TrueCoach charges 5% per transaction. Trainaq takes UPI and cards in India, and your own Stripe or PayPal elsewhere on Pro and Studio, with no Trainaq fee. |
| How much nutrition coaching do you do? | AI food photo logging is included on Trainaq, needs licences on Everfit and is paid on Trainerize. |

## Try Trainaq free for 7 days

If you coach up to 200 clients and want AI food photo logging, a weekly AI digest, diet plans and a free client app included, [start a 7-day free trial of Trainaq](https://app.trainaq.com/sign-up). No card is needed, and your data is kept if you don't continue.

## Frequently asked questions

### What is the best Kahunas alternative?
For coaches with up to 200 clients, Trainaq is the best value: $19 vs $35 at 10 clients, $39 vs $69 at 50 and $79 vs $99 at 200 on monthly billing. AI food photo logging and a weekly AI client digest come on every Trainaq plan. If you need your own branded app, Kahunas Ultimate or PT Distinction Pro and Master fit better.

### How much does Kahunas cost?
As of October 2026, Kahunas lists Essentials at $35/month for up to 25 clients, Growth at $69/month for up to 50 and Ultimate at $99/month for unlimited clients. Yearly prices are $315, $621 and $900, which Kahunas says saves 25%. Its pages show the prices with a "$" sign and no currency code.

### Is the Kahunas app free for clients?
Kahunas's help centre says the website is free for clients. We did not find a separate statement about the mobile app. On Trainaq, the client app for iOS and Android is free for clients on every plan.

### Does Kahunas include a branded app?
Yes, on Ultimate only. The $99/month Ultimate plan includes your own branded iOS and Android apps, and you also pay for an Apple developer account, which Kahunas says costs $99 USD per year. Essentials and Growth do not list a branded app.

### Which apps like Kahunas are cheapest for 50 clients?
On monthly billing in October 2026, Trainaq Pro is the lowest at $39/month for up to 50 clients. Next are My PT Hub Premium at $59/month (unlimited clients) and Kahunas Growth at $69/month. The other apps we compared charge $89.90 to $136.99/month for 50 clients.

### Can I take Stripe or PayPal payments with Trainaq?
Yes, outside India on Pro and Studio: connect your own Stripe or PayPal account, and clients pay in your currency, straight to you, with no Trainaq fee; monthly plans renew automatically. Coaches in India collect UPI and card payments through Razorpay, and every plan tracks cash and part payments with dues.

## Sources
- [Trainaq Pricing](https://trainaq.com/pricing) — accessed October 2026
- Kahunas packages and prices (help.kahunas.io/en/articles/214-what-are-the-prices-for-your-packages) — accessed October 2026
- Kahunas homepage (kahunas.io) — accessed October 2026
- Kahunas help centre, is the website free for clients (help.kahunas.io/en/articles/94-is-the-website-free-for-clients) — accessed October 2026
- Kahunas help centre, Stripe and PayPal (help.kahunas.io/en/articles/28-do-you-accept-direct-debits-or-integrate-with-stripe-and-paypal) — accessed October 2026
- Everfit pricing page (everfit.io/pricing) — accessed October 2026
- Everfit MacroSnap page (everfit.io/macrosnap-coaching) — accessed October 2026
- Trainerize pricing page (trainerize.com/pricing) — accessed October 2026
- Trainerize blog, software costs (trainerize.com/blog/coaching-management-software-costs) — accessed October 2026
- Trainerize blog, FitMetrics (trainerize.com/blog/fitmetrics-trainerize) — accessed October 2026
- My PT Hub pricing page (mypthub.net/pricing) — accessed October 2026
- My PT Hub workout features page (mypthub.net/features/workout-features) — accessed October 2026
- PT Distinction pricing page (ptdistinction.com/pricing) — accessed October 2026
- PT Distinction features page (ptdistinction.com/features) — accessed October 2026
- TrueCoach pricing page (truecoach.co/pricing) — accessed October 2026
- TrueCoach help centre, processing fees (help.truecoach.co) — accessed October 2026

Compare: [Trainaq vs Kahunas](https://trainaq.com/compare/kahunas)

Source: https://trainaq.com/blog/kahunas-alternatives
